Fighting Injustice in Polepally SEZ

…more than courage it takes WILL to stand up against injustice !

Polepally SEZ contestants make their point

leave a comment »

– K. Venkateshwarlu

HYDERABAD: Fifteen contestants for Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha seat, all victims of Polepally Special Economic Zone and two supporters of their cause, made their voice heard loud and clear yet again by bagging as many as 77,568.

Like in the previous Assembly byelections, these votes could have marred the chances of the Congress candidate, D. Vithal Rao as his Telangana Rashtra Samithi rival, K. Chandrasekhar Rao won by a majority of mere 20,000 votes. Conversely, the TRS candidate too would have improved his victory margin by 50,000 votes more.

No wonder, ever since the 15 independent candidates filed their nominations, both Mr. Vithal Rao and Mr. Chandrasekhar Rao became jittery. They kept sending feelers to them to either withdraw from contest or not to campaign vigorously in the Lok Sabha constituency having seven Assembly segments.

Not yielding to pressure, they doggedly campaigned on barefoot in all the seven segments. They did not have the fancy SUVs, star campaigners, money and manpower to take on the “giants” but they indeed took them on. They gave them some tense moments and mustered enough support to prove their point that they cannot be left in the lurch after denying them their only source of livelihood, land.

The break-up of votes secured by the Polepally’s poll team was, Y. Lingaiah (2977), M. A. Jabbar (2084), K. Kurmaiah (2949), M. Pandu (2718), V. Venkatesh (4064), Seeniah Goud (6064), K. Narsimhulu(2663), D. Sayanna (1937), Chinna Venkaiah (2426), Ravinder Goud (13996), G, Narasimhulu (3740) and four women – Sattemma (2966), B. Lakshmamma (9811), Mala Jangilamma (1854) and Rangamma (2000). Though not victims, two other supporters Maisaiah and Jangaiah got 4064 and Jangaiah 11,268.

“It is not the question of whether they helped Mr. Chandrasekhar Rao win or Mr. Vithal Rao to lose but the issue of atrocious SEZ policy they have brought into focus. They demonstrated what the poor, the displaced and the exploited villagers can still do by carrying out an uncompromising struggle for justice,” said Sujatha Surepally of Polepally anti- SEZ struggle committee.

It is a repeat of what they did in Assembly by-elections to Jadcherla in May 2008. At that time, 13 of them contested and secured 13,000 votes, enough to defeat the TRS legislator.

(Courtesy: 19th May 2009, The Hindu)

Written by JayaPrakash Telangana

May 20, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: